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NCW Case Management Agency 
Incident Report Submission 

FlexCare (North)  
Phone: (801) 294-6747 
Fax: (801) 424-6250 
FlexCare (South)  
Phone: (801) 273-6366 
Fax: (801) 424-6250 

Generations Case Management 
Phone: (801) 979-2436 
Fax: (385) 389-3632 
kara@generationscm.org 

MACS Plan 
Phone: (801) 625-3786 
Fax: (801) 778-6818 
lauraw@weberhs.org 

MAG
Phone: (801) 229-3839 
Fax: (801) 229-3671 

Roads To Independence  
Phone: (801) 612-3215 
Fax: (801) 612-3732 
andy@roadstoind.org 

Salt Lake County Aging and Adult Services  
Pho ne: (385) 487-3270 
Fax: (801) 487-6353 
tnagahiro@slco.org 

Southeastern Utah Association of Local 
Governments  
Phone: (435) 613-0036 
Fax: (435) 637-5448 

Utah Case Management  
Phone: (801) 407-0047 
Fax: (888) 400-9232 
ucm@utahcasemanagement.com 

NCW Case Management Agency 
Incident Report Submission 

Abundant Solutions, LLC
Phone: (801) 554-8100
Fax: (385) 316-8840

Adult Case  Management 
Phone: (385) 273-1456 
randy@adultcasemanagement.com  

Advocates for Independence 
Phone: (801) 679-6461 
Fax: (801) 948-8001 

Bear River Area Agency on Aging 
Phone: (435) 752-7242 
taram@brag.utah.gov 

Care Advocates  
Phone: (801) 722-4229 
Fax: (801) 702-8002 
jbylund@careadvocatesofutah.com 

Davis County Health Department-Senior 
Services  
Phone: (801) 525-5050 
Fax: (801) 525-5071 

De Novo Case Managment Services 
Phone: (801) 263-1056 
Fax: (801) 991-2903 
carol@denoservices.org

Disabled Rights Action Committee (DRAC)  
Phone: (801)  685-8214 
Fax:  801-665-1334 
contact@disabledrightsutah.org   

EnVision Quality Supports  
Phone: (801) 209-1357 
Fax: (801) 874-1753 
info@envisionquality.com 

Five County Association of Governments  
Phone: (435) 673-3548 
Fax: (435) 688-9088 

NCW Program Office 
Cannon Health Building  

288 North 1460 West  
Salt Lake City, UT 84116 Phone: 

801-538-6155 
Fax: 801-323-1586 

E-mail: ncwincidents@utah.gov



Why Reporting is Necessary 

State Law 

In accordance with Utah State Law,  

professionals and the public are 

required to report instances of abuse, 

neglect and exploitation. All incidents of 

suspected  abuse, neglect and 

exploitation shall be reported by the 

waiver coordinators and waiver 

providers  to Adult Protective Services 

(APS) for investigation.  

Adult Protective Services Intake Office : 

1-800-371-7897

Submit an APS referral online at :  

https://daas.utah.gov/adult-protective-

services/  

Required for Medicaid Funding 

New Choices Waiver requires the 

service provider to notify the client’s 

case manager within 24 hours of 

discovery of the negative event.  

 

 

 

 

 

Possible Critical Incidents 

1. Death (unexpected or accidental)

2. Suicide attempt (does not include threats)

3. Incidents expected to receive media, legislative 

or public scrutiny 

4. Compromised living environment requiring 

evacuation 

5. Person missing at least 24 hours or, regardless of 

the amount of time,  under suspicious or 

unexplained circumstances

6. Injury requiring medical treatment

(includes burns, choking,  aspiration, brain trauma,

fractures, self-injurious behavior etc.)

7. Abuse (physical or sexual) 

8. Neglect (caregiver neglect or self-neglect) 

9. Exploitation (includes exploitation of funds or 

property and theft of medications) 

10. Waste, fraud or abuse of Medicaid funds  by 

client or provider 

11. Human rights violation such as unauthorized use 

of restraints, seclusion, or infringement of personal 

privacy rights 

12. Medication/treatment error requiring medical 

treatment (includes errors while the medication is 

in the control of the provider, client, or other 

individual) 

13. Substance abuse requiring medical treatment 

14. Law enforcement involvement resulting in 

charges being filed against the client or staff 

15. PHI/PII security breach 

16. Other serious health and safety concern 

Reportable Negative Events 

All negative events experienced by NCW 

clients must be reported by NCW service 

providers to the case management agency 

within 24 hours of discovery. Incident 

reports should be sent using the fax or email 

specified by each agency, as listed on the 

other side of this brochure. Negative events 

include, but are not limited to: 

• Death, regardless of the circumstances

• Changes in medical or functional status 

• Falls with or without injury

• ER treatment for any reason

• Hospital admission for any reason

• Mental health decline

• Start or stop of hospice or home health

services

• A move to a skilled nursing facility

• Any negative event that occurs at the

client’s place of residence or that occurs

while the client is in the community

• Events described further in this brochure as

possible Critical Incidents

Case management agencies must review all 

negative events experienced by NCW clients 

and report any possible Critical Incidents to 

the NCW Program Office within 24 hours of 

receiving notification.  




